Tata Steel Chess 2018

Tata Steel chess 2018

12 - 28 January (Wijk aan Zee, Netherlands)

Two five-time winners in Tata Steel Masters in 80th edition


World champion Magnus Carlsen and former world champions Viswanathan Anand, Vladimir Kramnik and Hou Yifan will participate in the Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2018. Both Carlsen and Anand have won the Tata Steel Chess Tournament five times. They will face grandmasters like Anish Giri, Wesley So (2017 winner), Fabiano Caruana, Vladimir Kramnik, Sergey Karjakin and Hou Yifan in Wijk aan Zee in January. The 80th edition of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament will take place in Wijk aan Zee from 12 – 28 January 2018. 

Exciting competition

Jeroen van den Berg, director of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament: “The 80th Tata Steel Chess Tournament looks set to become a beautiful jubilee event. I am particularly pleased that four world champions are participating. The presence of Kramnik and Anand in this jubilee edition is very special, since it has been a few years since they played in Wijk aan Zee. Magnus Carlsen is still the world’s number one player, but his lead has shrunk. The battle for victory can become very exciting. Especially Anish Giri is very keen to win in front of a home audience, thus stepping in the footsteps of Jan Timman, the last Dutchman to win the Tata Steel Chess Tournament (in 1985). Gawain Jones has been promoted from the Tata Steel Challengers, which he won this year.” The 13th grandmaster will be announced in November and the 14th a month later, when it is known who will be the highest ranked player in the ACP Competition with a rating under 2750 on 1 December. The participants of the Tata Steel Challengers will be announced in November.

Preliminary list of participants Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2018, Tata Steel Masters


Name Country Rating World Ranking
Magnus Carlsen Norway 2826 1
Fabiano Caruana   USA 2794 4
Vladimir Kramnik          Russia                 2794                5
Shakhryar Mamedyarov Azerbaijan  2791 6
Wesley So      USA 2788 7
Viswanathan Anand India               2783                9
Sergey Karjakin Russia 2765 12
Anish Giri    Netherlands 2762 13
Wei Yi China 2740 18
Hou Yifan      China 2678 64
Adhiban Baskaran India 2671 75
Gawain Jones  England 2662 83

Strong field of participants Tata Steel Challengers in jubilee edition Tata Steel Chess Tournament


Brothers Jorden and Lucas van Foreest will face off on the grandmaster stage in Wijk aan Zee for the first time during the Tata Steel Chess Tournament. Both are part of the field of particpants of the Tata Steel Challangers, which has been announced today.


The 13 participants represent nine different countries. The average rating (2609) tops that of this year (2592). The field is led by 23-year-old grandmaster Vidit Gujrathi from India. The former second of Anish giri ranks 32nd on the world list. The second top 50 player is Bassem Amin from Egypt. He ranks 45th. Amin was the first African player to break the 2700 barrier. Both Gujrathi and Amin debut in Wijk aan Zee. The 14th participant will be the highest ranking player from the ACP competition with a rating of 2650 or lower on 1 December 2017. The 80th edition of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament takes place in Wijk aan Zee from 12 – 28 January 2018.


Tournament director Jeroen van den Berg: “The field of participants of the Tata Steel Challengers is a nice mix of youth and experience, male and female top chess players. German grandmaster Matthias Blübaum and Ukranian Anton Korobov will make their debut and are not among the top candidates for the title, but may create some surprises. Only 20 years old, Matthias Blübaum has been one of the top German players for years. Korobov is known for his daring and attacking style, which yields varying results. He is just out of the top 100, while he was part of the top 40 last June.” It has become custom to invite a veteran to participate in the Tata Steel Challengers. This time that is Michal Krasenkow (54) from Poland. He is still a very strong player, who has participated in the tournament in Wijk aan Zee before.


The Netherlands will be represented by brothers Jorden and Lucas van Foreest, Erwin l’Ami and Benjamin Bok. Jorden, Erwin and Benjamin were on the Dutch team during the European Championships in Crete, finishing 8th. Jorden will participate in the Tata Steel Challengers for the third time, while his two years younger brother Lucas (16) will make his debut. Lucas won this year’s top amateur group, thus earning promotion to the Tata Steel Challengers. Two other young players, Aryan Tari (Norway) and Jeffery Xiong (United States) will return to Wijk aan Zee after good performances in this year’s edition. Xiong in particular left a very strong impression during his debut last January. Two female top chess players will participate: Harika Dronavalli from India (11th on the world ranking) and Olga Girya (15th) from Russia, both 26 years-old. The latter will debut in Wijk aan Zee.


Preliminary list of participants Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2018, Tata Steel Challengers


Name Country Year of Birth Rating
Vidit Gujrathi India 1994 2721
Bassem Amin Egypt 1988 2700
Michal Krasenkow Poland 1963 2659
Anton Korobov Ukraine 1985 2652
Matthias Blübaum Germany 1997 2643
Erwin l'Ami The Netherlands 1985 2629
Jeffrey Xiong USA 2000 2629
Jorden van Foreest The Netherlands 1999 2616
Benjamin Bok The Netherlands 1995 2605
Aryan Tari Norway 1999 2581
Harika Dronavalli India 1991 2511
Olga Girya Russia 1991 2495
Lucas van Foreest The Netherlands 2001 2474