TataSteel Chess tournament

Tata Steel and the Tata Steel Chess Tournament

The Tata Steel Chess Tournament has a long and rich history. The tournament started 80 years ago (1938) as an employee tournament for the steel producer Hoogovens. Since then it has become one of the most prestigious chess tournaments. The world’s greatest chess players, as well as keen amateurs, make sure to be part of ‘the Wimbledon of Chess’.

Tata Steel chooses to support chess because chess is focused on strategic thinking and finding creative solutions for complex problems. Tata Steel uses the same tactics during the high-tech process of making steel and solving complex challenges for our customers. Additionally, the tournament contributes to the economic wellbeing of our surrounding community during winter, which is one of the most challenging times of the year for a coastal village like Wijk aan Zee.

TataSteel Chess Festival

TataSteel Chess  TataSteel Chess  TataSteel Chess

Tournament (year) Location Winner(s) Masters Winner(s) B-Group (Challengers) Winner(s) C-Group
Tata Steel Chess 2019Wijk aan ZeeMagnus CarlsenKovalev, Vladislav-
Tata Steel Chess 2018Wijk aan ZeeMagnus CarlsenSantosh Gujrath Vidit-
Tata Steel Chess 2017Wijk aan ZeeWesley SoGawain Jones-
Tata Steel Chess 2016Wijk aan ZeeMagnus CarlsenAdhiban Baskaran-
Tata Steel Chess 2015Wijk aan ZeeMagnus CarlsenYi Wei-
Tata Steel Chess 2014Wijk aan ZeeLevon AronianIvan Saric-
Tata Steel Chess 2013Wijk aan ZeeMagnus CarlsenRichard Rapport/Arkadij NaiditschSabino Brunello
Tata Steel Chess 2012Wijk aan ZeeLevon AronianPentala HarikrishnaMaxim Turov
Tata Steel Chess 2011Wijk aan ZeeHikaru NakamuraDavid NavaraDaniele Vocaturo
Corustoernooi 2010Wijk aan ZeeMagnus CarlsenAnish GiriLi Chao
Corustoernooi 2009Wijk aan ZeeSergei KarjakinFabiano CaruanaWesley So
Corustoernooi 2008Wijk aan ZeeLevon Aronian/Magnus CarlsenSergey MovsesianFabiano Caruana
Corustoernooi 2007Wijk aan ZeeLevon Aronian/Veselin Topalov/Teimour RadjabovPavel EljanovMichal Krasenkow
Corustoernooi 2006Wijk aan ZeeViswanathan Anand/Veselin TopalovMagnus Carlsen/Alexander MotylevMichal Krasenkow
Corustoernooi 2005Wijk aan ZeePeter LekoSergey KarjakinVladimir Georgiev
Corustoernooi 2004Wijk aan ZeeViswanathan AnandLazaro BruzonMagnus Carlsen
Corustoernooi 2003Wijk aan ZeeViswanathan AnandZhang ZhongEric Lobron
Corustoernooi 2002Wijk aan ZeeEvgeny BareevMichał KrasenkowIan Rogers/Andrei Istrățescu
Corustoernooi 2001Wijk aan ZeeGarry KasparovMikhail Gurevich-
Corustoernooi 2000Wijk aan ZeeGarry KasparovSergei Tiviakov/Alexander Onischuk/Boris Avrukh-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1999Wijk aan ZeeGarry KasparovSmbat Lputian-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1998Wijk aan ZeeVladimir Kramnik/Viswanathan AnandDimitri Reinderman-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1997Wijk aan ZeeValery SalovFriso Nijboer-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1996Wijk aan ZeeVassily IvanchukAlexander Onischuk-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1995Wijk aan ZeeAlexey Dreev--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1994Wijk aan ZeePredrag NikolićLars Bo Hansen/Friso Nijboer-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1993Wijk aan ZeeAnatoly Karpov--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1992Wijk aan ZeeValery Salov/Boris GelfandVladimir B Tukmakov-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1991Wijk aan ZeeJohn NunnAlfonso Romero Holmes-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1990Wijk aan ZeeJohn NunnJohn Fedorowicz-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1989Wijk aan ZeeViswanathan Anand/Predrag Nikolić/Zoltán Ribli/Gyula SaxYury Dokhoian/Friso Nijboer -
Hoogovenstoernooi 1988Wijk aan ZeeAnatoly KarpovVitaly Tseshkovsky-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1987Wijk aan ZeeAnatoly KarpovIvan Farago/Nona Gaprindashvili-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1986Wijk aan ZeeNigel ShortKrunoslav Hulak-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1985Wijk aan ZeeJan TimmanFerenc Portisch-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1984Wijk aan ZeeAlexander Beliavsky/Viktor KorchnoiKiril Georgiev-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1983Wijk aan ZeeUlf AnderssonGert Ligterink-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1982Wijk aan ZeeJohn D.M. Nunn/Yuri S BalashovPeter Scheeren-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1981Wijk aan ZeeJan Timman/Gennadi SosonkoJohn van der Wiel-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1980Wijk aan ZeeYasser Seirawan/Walter S. Browne--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1979Wijk aan ZeeLev Polugaevsky--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1978Wijk aan ZeeLajos Portisch--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1977Wijk aan ZeeGennadi Sosonko/Efim GellerViktor Kupreichik-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1976Wijk aan ZeeFridrik Olafsson/Ljubomir LjubojevicJuraj Nikolac/Robert Bellin-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1975Wijk aan ZeeLajos PortischViktor Kupreichik-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1974Wijk aan ZeeWalter S. BrowneBojan Kurajica-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1973Wijk aan ZeeMikhail TalTheodor Ghitescu-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1972Wijk aan ZeeLajos PortischZoltan Ribli/Bertus Enklaar-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1971Wijk aan ZeeViktor KorchnoiJan Timman-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1970Wijk aan ZeeMark E TaimanovUlf Andersson-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1969Wijk aan ZeeEfim Geller/ Mikhail BotvinnikBojan Kurajica/Heikki Westerinen-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1968Wijk aan ZeeViktor KorchnoiAntonio Angel Medina Garcia/Zbigniew Doda/Predrag Ostojic-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1967BeverwijkBoris V. SpasskyTheo Van Scheltinga-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1966BeverwijkLev PolugaevskyTheodor Ghitescu-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1965BeverwijkEfim Geller/Lajos PortischDirk Daniel Van Geet-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1964BeverwijkIivo Nei/Paul KeresHeinz Lehmann-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1963BeverwijkJohannes DonnerCoenraad Zuidema/Paul De Rooi/Arthur Dunkelblum-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1962BeverwijkPetar Trifunovic--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1961BeverwijkBorislav Ivkov/Bent LarsenCenek Kottnauer-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1960BeverwijkTigran V Petrosian/Bent LarsenJohan Bink-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1959BeverwijkFridrik OlafssonEmil Josef Diemer-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1958BeverwijkJohannes Donner/Max Euwe--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1957BeverwijkAleksandar Matanovic--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1956BeverwijkGideon StahlbergEmil Josef Diemer/Egon Ditt-
Hoogovenstoernooi 1955BeverwijkBorislav Milic--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1954BeverwijkVasja Pirc/Hans Bouwmeester--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1953BeverwijkNicolas Rossolimo--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1952BeverwijkMax Euwe--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1951BeverwijkHerman Pilnik--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1950BeverwijkJohannes Donner--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1949BeverwijkSavielly Tartakower--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1948BeverwijkLodewijk Prins--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1947BeverwijkTheo Van Scheltinga--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1946BeverwijkAlberic O`Kelly de Galway--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1944BeverwijkTheo Van Scheltinga--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1943BeverwijkArnold Van den Hoek--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1942BeverwijkMax Euwe--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1941BeverwijkArthur Wijnans--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1940BeverwijkMax Euwe--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1939BeverwijkNicolaas Cortlever--
Hoogovenstoernooi 1938BeverwijkJilling Van Dijk/Philip Bakker--

TataSteel Chess  TataSteel Chess  TataSteel Chess